Jury Pay by State

All states

Jury duty pay in Virginia

$50a day to start

$50 for each day of attendance1

Your rights as a juror

Mileage
Travel expenses and other necessary and reasonable costs as the court may direct1
Job protection
After notice, jurors may not be fired, face adverse action or be made to use leave. No shift after 5 p.m. or before 3 a.m. after 4 hours2
Many counties pay more than the state minimum, and your summons usually says what you will be paid. If something here is not covered, your summons or the court clerk can tell you.

Sources

  1. Code of Virginia 17.1-618 Compensation of jurors, Virginia General Assembly, checked 1 November 2026
  2. Code of Virginia 18.2-465.1, Virginia General Assembly, checked 1 November 2026

Checked 1 November 2026. "Secondary" marks a copy of the law we used because the official site could not be read.